Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Oceania > Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna are in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, about two thirds of the way between Hawaii and New Zealand, 22,000 km from Paris, 6,000 km from Australia and 2,500 km from New Caledonia.

The archipelago belongs to Polynesia, which also includes the Cook Islands, Easter Island, French Polynesia, Niue, the Pitcain Islands, Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga and Tuvalu.

Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna are French overseas territories. The archipelago consists of the main islands Wallis, Futuna and Alofi as well as 20 other small islands.

Wallis and Futuna are about 230 km apart. Alofi is a "day trip" distance from Futuna.

Name of the country Territoire des Iles Wallis et Futuna
Form of government Overseas territory of France
Geographical location In the Pacific Ocean; Latitude: 13 18 'South, Longitude: 176 12' West
National anthem French national anthem, Marseillaise
Population approx. 8,500 (Credit: Countryaah: Wallis and Futuna Facts)
Ethnicities 93% Polynesians and 7% Europeans
Religion 99% Catholics and 1% Others
Languages French and Wallisan, a Polynesian language
Capital Mata-Utu with about 1,100 residents
Surface around 140 km²,

Wallis around 76 km², Futuna around 46 km² and Alofi around 18 km²

Highest mountain Mont Singavi, with an altitude of 765 m
Largest lake Kikila Lake, with an area of about 0.179 km²
International license plate F.
Currency Pacific Franc, Cour de Franc Pacifique
Time difference to CET +11 h
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .wf

Wallis and Fotuna: history

Early history

Wallis and Futuna were documented by Lapita culture between 1500 BC. and 500 BC. populated. Pigs were brought to the islands with the Lapita people.

According to Abbreviationfinder website, the island of Futuna was later heavily influenced by Samoa, while the islands of Wallis around 1400 AD. were afflicted by the residents of Tonga Island. The arguments were pretty bloody. Tongan fortifications from this period have been found at the archaeological sites of Talietumu and Tonga Toto.

The Europeans are coming

The Dutch William Schouten and Jacques le Maire discovered the islands in 1616 and named them Hoorn, after Cap Horn. In 1767 the islands were renamed Wallis by the English navigator Samuel Wallis. He had discovered Tahiti shortly before.

Over the next few years, the islands became a popular stopover for whalers and traders.

Wallis and Fotuna: history


The first missionary arrived in 1837. It was Pierre Chane, who a few years later was murdered by the warriors of King Niuluki. However, he was so successful with his missionary work that the island was soon completely Christianized. He was declared saint of the South Seas in 1954.

20th century until today

The islands were officially declared a French colony in 1924. During World War II, the Americans administered the islands. In 1959, the population decided on the status of an overseas territory of France.

Today the island is economically completely dependent on France. As on most islands in the Pacific, there are more Wallisians living abroad, in this case New Caledonia, than on their home island itself.

In 2002 one of the kings had the only newspaper on the islands discontinued because it obviously did not suit him.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer