Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Africa > Suriname


There are a total of three countries that can be referred to as "Guyana". These are French Guiana, Guyana (the former British Guyana) and Suriname (the former Dutch Guyana). The country is located on the northeast coast of South America and borders Brazil to the south, Guyana to the west, French Guiana to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. Suriname is the smallest independent state in South America.


Name of the country Republic of Suriname
Form of government Presidential Republic
Geographical location between around 01 ° and 06 ° north latitude and 053 ° and 058 ° west longitude
National anthem God zij met ons Suriname (Opo! Kondreman)
National holiday November 25 (independence 1975)
Population approx. 585,000 (Credit: Countryaah: Suriname Population)
Ethnicities around 33% are of Indian descent, 33% Creoles, 18% Javanese (Indonesia)

and 9% Morrones (descendants of the former slaves who fled into the interior and 2% Indians

Religion Around 20% each are Protestants, Hindus, Roman Catholics and Muslims, as well as natural religions and Jews as small minorities
Languages Dutch is the official language, Hindi and Javanese are still spoken

and English and Sranang Tongo are spoken as lingua franca

Capital Paramaribo with around 250,000 residents
Surface 163,265 km²
Highest mountain Julianatop 1,280 m
Longest river Courantyne 726 km
Largest lake Prof. Dr. Ir. WJ Van-Blommestein Meer
International license plate SME
National currency Suriname Dollar (SRD)
Time difference to CET - 5 h
International phone code/mobile network + 597
Mains voltage, frequency 127 volts/60 hertz
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .sr

Suriname: history

Before the year 1498

The region has probably been around since around 1,000 BC. Has been settled. Semi -settled Indians of the Karib and Aruak tribes populated the country long before the arrival of the Spanish and Dutch. The country is named after the Indian tribe of the Surines, who had been driven out by other tribes before Columbus arrived.

European colonial period from 1498 to 1667

According to Abbreviationfinder website, Christopher Columbus discovered the future country of Suriname in 1498. However, the Spaniards did not find it interesting as a colony. As a result, Dutch trading companies set up bases on the coast of the country in the early seventeenth century. From 1651 the coast was successfully colonized by the English by building plantations with slaves. The Dutch intensified their colonization efforts from 1654, the year they were expelled from northern Brazil.

Suriname: history

Dutch colonial period from 1667 to 1975

In 1667 the Breda Peace Agreement forced Holland to cede Manhattan to England. For this, the territory of the later states of Guyana and Suriname was given to the kingdom as a colony. After the Napoleonic Wars in which the British occupied the area, France received the eastern part. The center, called Suriname, went to the Netherlands. The western part, today's Guyana, became an English colony.

Under the Dutch administrators, slavery in Suriname was not abolished until 1865. If the hard work on the sugar cane plantations was previously done by African slaves, this is now done by guest workers from Asia. Bauxite was discovered in the country during the First World War. Since then, Suriname has generated 80% of its export revenues with bauxite and its aluminum products. In 1954 the colony received the same rights as the mother country and became an autonomous region with self-government.

Independence since 1975 until today

The Netherlands gave the country independence in 1975. As a result, many residents emigrated to Holland. Suriname lost a third of its population in five years. The emigrants were primarily the wealthy Indian families who feared economic decline from the new Creole government of Prime Minister Henck Arron (1975-1980). A military coup brought Désiré Boutsere to power. The guerrilla war that followed in 1986 with the " Jungle Commando""did not end until 1992. The country received a new constitution in 1987 and the new civil government elected in the same year was again dissolved by means of a military coup (1990). The economic data on average per capita income and foreign trade are sobering.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer