Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Central America > Montserrat


According to Abbreviationfinder website, Montserrat is a small island in the Caribbean, which geographically belongs to the "Lesser Antilles". Politically, the island is an overseas territory of the "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland" with an "internal independence", but the island became world famous through the two volcanic eruptions in 1995 and 197, which led to the entire southern part of the island being covered by a thick layer of lava and to this day it is not allowed to enter the restricted area. In the northern part of the island, however, life has returned to normal and shops, markets, restaurants and hotels are open. Because of the tropical vegetation there and the green mountainous landscape, the island is often referred to as the "Shining Emerald of the Caribbean". The first European to set foot on the island.


Name of the island Montserrat
Form of government British Crown Colony with "Inner Independence"
geographical location In the Caribbean southeast of Nevis

and northwest of Guadeloupe

latitude and longitude From 16 40 'to 16 49' north latitude

From 062 09 'to 062 15' west longitude

National anthem God save the Queen
Population around 5,000 (Credit: Countryaah: Montserrat Facts)
  • 93% black and mixed race
  • 3% whites
  • 4% other races
Religions 30% of the population belong to the Anglican Church, 23% are Methodists, 10% are Catholic, as well as Pentecostal, Seventh-Day Adventists and other Christian communities
Languages English
Capital Previously before the Plymouth volcanic eruption.

Currently the Brades Estate on the northern part of the isla

Surface 102 km2
Highest mountain Lava dome in English's Crater - in the Soufriere Hills massif,

height approx. 1,050 m

National currency 1 East Caribbean dollar = 100 cents
Time difference to CET - 5 h (there is no change to summer time)
International phone code + 664
Mains voltage, frequency 220 volt, 60 Hertz adapter required
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .ms





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer