Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Oceania > Micronesia


Federated States of Micronesia

The United States (also: Federated States) of Micronesia is made up of the following four "states", enumerated from west to east:

  • Yap
  • Chuuk
  • Pohnpei
  • Kosrae

They are part of the Caroline Islands, which also includes the independent island of Palau. The ruins of Nan Madol, also known as the "Venice of the South Pacific", located on the island of Pohnpei, are among the few stone witnesses of a lost culture in the South Pacific.


In contrast to the other islands, Yap Island is largely untouched by western influences.

Country name Federated States of Micronesia
Form of government Republic in free association with the USA
Geographical location north of the equator in the western Pacific
National anthem Patriots of Micronesia
Population approx. 112,000 (Credit: Countryaah: Micronesia Population)
Ethnicities nine Micronesian and Polynesian tribes
Religion around 50% Catholics, 47% Protestants
Languages English is the official language. Chuuku, Kosraen, Pohnpeian and Yapese are also spoken.
Capital The capital is Kolonia, the seat of government is Palikir, both on the island of Pohnpei.
Surface 702 km²
Highest mountain Mt. Nahna Laud, with a height of 772 m
Longest river Malem river
Boarding school License Plate FSM
Time difference compared to CET The islands lie within two time zones:

For Yap and Chuuk: + 9 h

For Pohnpei and Kosrae: + 10 h

Boarding school Telephone code 00691
Mains voltage, mains frequency 110/120 V, 60 Hz
Internet Top Level Domain (TLD) .fm

Federated States of Micronesia: History

Before the Europeans

The islands are believed to have been around 5,000-4,000 BC By Malay ethnic groups. were settled. The state of Pohnpei was ruled by Nan Madol around 1,400 from a tyrannical royal dynasty. The impressive ruins of the once magnificent city can still be seen today. The state of Kosrae, on the other hand, was united by a chief, Tokorosa, around 1,400. He ruled the small island of Lelu in the middle of a fort made of basalt walls. The island of Lelu and the offshore smaller islands also had a sophisticated canal system. The common people inhabited the main island of Ualang.

Discovery by the Europeans

According to Abbreviationfinder website, with the Treaty of Tordesillas in 1494, the islands were officially assigned to Spain. The first Europeans, Portuguese and Spaniards, reached the islands in 1526. The Spanish claimed the Caroline Islands under the Treaty of Tordesillas for themselves. This was to remain so until 1899, the end of the Spanish-American war, when the Spaniards sold the islands to Deutscheland.

Federated States of Micronesia: History

Until World War II

The Sokeh uprising took place in 1910-1911. The trigger was a German overseer who beat a worker on Sokeh Island. The residents of the island of Pohnpei then killed the overseer and the revolt began. The Germans put down the uprising and executed 17 insurgent leaders. They then deported around 430 residents from Sokeh to the neighboring island group of Palau. And settled the island of Pohnpei with other islanders.

The Japanese took possession of the islands in 1914 and in 1920 received a mandate from the League of Nations to administer the islands.

The Chuuk Lagoon became the main Japanese base in the central Pacific. She was nicknamed the "Gibraltar of the Pacific". The Americans attacked this naval base on February 17, 1944 and sank about 60 ships directly in the port. These are still there today.

After World War II until today

After the victory in World War II, the Americans stayed and founded the "Federated States of Micronesia" on the American model. For this they received the mandate from the UN to administer Micronesia.

In 1964 a Micronesian Congress was formed.

The current state of Kosrae became part of the state of Pohnpei. In 1977 it separated from Pohnpei and became its own state.

In 1978, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands and Palau adopted a common constitution. Both the Marshall Islands and Palau disagreed with the constitution and therefore split off. The remaining islands form what is now the United States of Micronesia, which entered into a free association with the USA in 1982, which was projected to run for 15 years. In return for a guaranteed annual sum of money, the US was given the exclusive right to use the region for military purposes.

With the end of the Cold War, however, the region lost its key military role for the USA.

In 2004 the contract with the USA was extended to 20 years with changed conditions.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer