Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Africa > Mauritius


Mauritius - paradise in the Indian Ocean

The Republic of Mauritius consists of several islands in the Indian Ocean. The largest of them is the eponymous island of Mauritius.

The archipelago is about 900 kilometers east of Madagascar. Tourists travel to Mauritius mainly because of the picturesque beaches, as the islands are a paradise for bathers, water sports enthusiasts and divers.


The country is well known for the "Blue Mauritius" stamp with the image of Queen Victoria. Today there are only about ten of the precious stamp from 1847 left. The most expensive letter in history with a Red and Blue Mauritius was auctioned for 3.5 million euros in 1993.

Name of the country Republic of Mauritius
Form of government Parliamentary democracy
Geographical location In addition to the main island of Mauritius, the Republic of Mauritius includes the island of Rodrigues, the Cargados-Carajos Islands and the Agalega Islands. The islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues belong to the Mascarene archipelago in the southwestern Indian Ocean, about 800 km east of Madagascar.
National anthem Motherla
Population about 1.3 million (Credit: Countryaah: Mauritius Population)
Ethnicities approx. 53% Indian, approx. 2.3% European, approx. 43% Creole and approx. 1.6% Chinese
Religions approx. 50% Hindus, approx. 32.5% Christians, approx. 17% Muslims and approx. 0.2% Buddhists
Languages The official language is English. French is spoken equally.
Capital Port Louis
Surface 2,040 km², of which the island of Mauritius 1,865 km²
Highest mountain Piton de la Petite Rivière Noire with an altitude of 828 m.
Longest river The longest river in the country is the Grande Rivière du Sud-Est.
Largest lake The largest lake in Mauritius is the Mare aux Vacoas.
International license plate MS
National currency 1 Mauritius rupee (MR) = 100 cents
Time difference to CET + 3 h
International phone code 00230
Mains voltage, frequency 220/230 volts and 50 hertz
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .mu

Mauritius: history

From the year 1000 to the 17th century

The Portuguese navigator Pedro de Mascarenas discovered Mauritius and Réunion in 1512. After him, the islands were called Mascarene. The Dutch took over the island of Mauritius in 1598 and tried in vain to colonize it.

In the 18th and 19th centuries

According to Abbreviationfinder website, in 1710 the Dutch left the island. In 1715 Mauritius was taken over by France. The English tried unsuccessfully to conquer the island in 1748. The Code Napoléon, the French civil code, was introduced in Mauritius in 1808 and is still valid there today.

In 1810, the English still managed to conquer Mauritius. Slavery was abolished in 1835. Cheap labor was brought in from China and India ("coolies").

Mauritius: history

From 1891 to 1899 epidemics and natural disasters ruled the island. Illness and emigration halved the number of people living in Mauritius.

In the 20th century

In 1958, unrestricted voting rights were introduced on the island. Mauritius became a sovereign state in the British Commonwealth in 1968 and a republic in 1992.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer