Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Oceania > Marshall Islands

Marshall Islands

The Marshall Islands are part of Micronesia and lie in the central Pacific Ocean. The most famous island that belongs to the Marshall Islands is undoubtedly the Bikiniatoll. B. the bikini was named. The atoll is about 50 km northwest of the Majuro Atoll, on which the capital of the island state is located.

The islands were the scene of serious clashes between Japanese and Americans during World War II. After the war, the Americans used the region as a test station, where they carried out a total of over 60 atom bomb tests.

Marshall Islands

Nowadays the remains of the Second World War offer e.g. B. Divers an interesting diving area, together with the diverse underwater world.

Name of the country Republic of the Marshall Islands
Form of government Republic in free association with the USA
Location In the Pacific Ocean, latitude = from 4º to 14º south

longitude = from 160º to 173º east

National anthem Forever Marshall Islands (since 1991)
Population About 58,000 (Credit: Countryaah: Marshall Islands Population)
Ethnicities Micronesians
Religion Christians (Protestants)
Languages English, Marshallic
Capital Delap-Uliga-Darrit, with approx. 40,000 residents
Surface 181 km²
Highest mountain The highest elevation of 10 m is on the island of Liepek
Largest lake in area
International license plate MH
Currency U.S. dollar
Time difference to CET + 11h
International phone code +692
Voltage 110/120 V, 60 Hz, US plug
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .mh

Marshall Islands: History

The first Micronesians reached the island in the 2nd millennium BC. And called the islands "Our Land" (Aelon No AD). The exact place of origin of the settlers is not known.

From 1400 AD

According to Abbreviationfinder website, the Treaty of Tordesillas was signed in 1494 by Pope Alexander VI. signed between Spain and Portugal. This treaty was intended to prevent armed conflict between these two strictly Catholic countries. In this contract, an imaginary north-south line was drawn west of Cape Verde. All land discovered east of the line should go to Portugal, all west of it to Spain. For example, Portugal received Brazil on this basis.

In search of a western route to the Spice Islands, the Spaniard Alvaro Saaveedra discovered the Marshall Islands in 1529, which were named after the British captain William Marshall in 1788. In 1857, the Reverend Hiram Bingham (1875-1956) established a missionary station on Ebon.

Marshall Islands: History

A few years later, large trading companies, including some German ones, arrived on the islands. The German captain von Werner concluded a trade agreement with the natives on the Ralikkette in 1878. In 1885 the German government annexed the Marshall Islands with the help of Pope Leo XIII. and established a protectorate a year later.

From 1900

In 1914 the Japanese occupied the islands. They then received a mandate from the League of Nations in 1920. When the Japanese withdrew from the Bund in 1934, they began arming the islands of Mili, Jaluit, Malaelap, Wotje and Kwajalein as military bases.

The Allies invaded the region during World War II in 1943 and occupied the islands a year later. With the end of World War II in 1945, the USA gained control of the islands, where they carried out the first atomic bomb tests in 1946 and in the course of this had to evacuate the Bikini Atoll.

In February 1954 "Bravo", with an explosive force of 15 megatons, the largest hydrogen bomb that the USA ever detonated, was tested on Bikini Atoll. As a result, the residents of Rongelapese, Rongerik, Utirik and Ailinginae were evacuated. The first residents were only allowed to return to Rongelapese in 1957. However, for fear of the radiation, they left the island a few years later.

The independence of the state was prepared in 1965.

As a result, the first constitution of the Mashall Islands came into force on May 1, 1979, and in 1986 the Treaty with the USA (Compact of Free Association), which made the islands independent from the USA. The UN trusteeship over the islands expired in 1990. The Republic of the Marshall Islands then joined the UN in 1991.

In 2003 the contract with the USA, the Compact of Free Association, was renegotiated and extended for a further 20 years.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer