Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Asia > Brunei


Brunei Darussalam, known for short as Brunei, is a monarchy that emerged from a former sultanate.

The country is one of the smallest and one of the richest states in the world and the third largest oil producer in Southeast Asia. Oil has been produced in the country since 1932.

The Sultan of Brunei is one of the richest men in the world. The country has a very good infrastructure, including free health care and free school and university education.


The state itself consists of two territories separated by the Malaysian Limbang Corridor.


Since April 3, 2019, homosexuality can be punished with death by stoning. This applies to both men and women

Official name of the country Negara Brunei Darussalam
Short form Brunei
Form of government Absolute monarchy under a Malay-Muslim royal house
Location 5 05 'N to 4 00' N and 114 04 'to 115 24' E

on the northwest coast of the island of Borneo on the South China Sea

National anthem Allah Peliharakan Sultan
Population about 415,000 (Credit: Countryaah: Brunei Population)
Ethnicities 67% Malay, 22% other, 11% Chinese
Religions 67% Muslims, 13% Buddhists, 10% Christians, 10% others
Languages Official languages: Malay as the official language

English is the language of instruction and the lingua

franca of Chinese dialects

Capital Bandar Seri Begawan with approx. 50,000 residents in the city

and 290,000 in the district

Surface 5,765 km²
Highest mountain Bukit Pagon with a height of 1,850 m
Longest river Belait with a length of around 570 km
Largest lake Tasek Merumbun
International license plate BRU
National currency Brunei dollars
Difference to CET + 7h
International phone code +673
Voltage frequency 220/240V, 50 Hz
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .bn

Brunei: history

Brunei until the 19th century

Islam spread to the Brunei area in the 13th century. In 1521 Magellan visited the country on his journey. In the 16th-18th In the 19th century, the Sultanate's area of influence extended over large parts of Borneo and the southern part of the Philippines, i.e. over a much larger area than it is today. The Dutch, Spaniards and British, but also pirates, constantly contested the territory with the sultans of that time. In 1838 the British James Brooke (1803 - 1868) was appointed liege lord by the Sultan for the suppression of an insurrection and an end to unrest among the indigenous peoples. He received hereditary rule over what is now the Malay state of Sarawak. James Brooke and two of his relatives were named the so-called "White Rajas" (royal rulers) of Borneo. Their rule ended during World War II, when the Japanese conquered the region. In 1847 the sultanate closed with Britain signed a treaty to combat pirates. In 1888 Brunei became a British protectorate. The country was divided into two parts in 1890 as a result of the loss of the "Limbang Corridor", which belongs to Malaysia.

Brunei: history

20th century until today

According to Abbreviationfinder website, the Japanese occupied both Brunei and the entire region during World War II. On 9/29 In 1959 the first Brunei constitution came into force. Parliamentary elections were also planned. In 1962 the uprising of the Parti Rakjat Brunei, the People's Party of Brunei, was put down by British troops. Since then, there has been a state of emergency in the country. In 1963, Brunei refused membership in the Malaysian Federation. On October 4th, 1967 the Sultan Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien abdicated. His son Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah has been in power ever since. Brunei regained its sovereignty on January 1st, 1984. The legislative chamber was dissolved in 1984 and was only reinstated on September 25, 2004.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer